The New York State Education Department has named Thomas J. Lahey Elementary School, Oldfield Middle School and Harborfields High School to its distinguished list of Reward Schools for the 2013-14 school year. This designation is based on achievement trends and student growth over the past several years and is an honor granted to only 353 schools throughout New York State this year.

Recently, the SED adopted relatively new accountability guidelines for all schools throughout the state, identifying both the lowest-performing districts and those that are achieving at the highest levels or making the most progress. For those schools that fall in the latter category, the SED categorizes them as Reward Schools.

“I am extremely proud of the hard work shown by our administrators, teachers and students,” Superintendent of Schools Diana Todaro said. “For three of our schools to be named as Reward Schools by the state is a testament to our school community’s dedication and continued growth.”