Suffolk Zone Leadership Awards

Four Harborfields students were recently honored for demonstrating outstanding leadership qualities in physical education. Thomas J. Lahey Elementary School fifth-graders Petra Brown and Michael Mank, as well as Oldfield Middle School eighth-graders Hallie Simkins and Patrick Williamson, were named winners of the New York State Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance Suffolk Zone Physical Education Leadership Award.

To receive this award, the student must possess leadership attributes in their physical education class and be a positive role model for their classmates. Accompanied by Thomas J. Lahey physical education teachers Michele Turchaino and Christine Collins and Oldfield Middle School teachers Bonnie Robertson and Sue Karagjozi, the Harborfields students were recognized during an awards ceremony at Longwood Middle School on May 6.