District Recognizes Retirees and Honorees

District Recognizes Retirees and Honorees Photo

Faculty members, administrators, board members and their families celebrated the 2016-17 retirees and outstanding members of the community and district on June 14.

The evening took place in the Oldfield Middle School auditorium where refreshments were served. Superintendent of Schools Dr. Francesco Ianni welcomed those in attendance for coming to the special evening.

“Special nights like this give us the opportunity to reflect on what we have done to enrich the lives of the many children in this district that all of you have impacted,” said Dr. Ianni.

To kick off the retiree recognitions, Dr. Ianni called up Thomas J. Lahey Elementary School principal and retiree Marguerite Greene. He praised her for her dedication and service to the students in the district. Greene was one out of 16 retirees that were honored during the evening.

Other retirees included Gregory Adams, Donna Basile, Maria D’Amore, Patricia DeMarinis, Linda Espey, Claire Flynn, Phyllis Hoar, Sharon Kiefaber, Ellen Macrae, Nicholas Maravell, Dale Melchior, Loretta Motz, Bonnie Robertson, Kimberly Shineman and Rita Vita. Each were thanked by their school principal for their positive impact on the students’ in the district.

In addition, Board of Education Service Awards were presented to faculty members, administrators and community members who have gone above and beyond in the district. The Teacher Award was presented to Harborfields High School science teacher Keith McInnes and Washington Drive Primary School social worker Anna Zaharia and the Custodial Staff Award was given to Oldfield Middle School custodian Joey Rice.

Three Community Member Awards were presented to Mary Seligmann, Deborah and Frank Stolba and Linda White. The Support Staff Award was given to Peter Iovino and Dr. Ianni presented the Administrator Service Award to Executive Director for Instructional Services Jordan Cox.