Honoring Those Who Make Harborfields a Better Place

Honoring Those Who Make Harborfields a Better Place photo thumbnail97370

During the last Board of Education Meeting of the 2017-18 school year, members of the school community were recognized for their hard work and dedication to excellence. Faculty, staff, and community members who went above and beyond this year were recognized, as well as those who were retiring, and moving into a new season of life.

Superintendent of Schools Dr. Francesco Ianni welcomed all in attendance, and remarked on the special nature of the night, for both award winners and retirees.

“This night is unique in that it marks the beginning of a new chapter for some, but also recognizes the passion and dedication that’s been put into our school system every day,” said Dr. Ianni, “and it gives us an opportunity to reflect on what we’ve gone through—to really step back and realize the importance of all we’ve contributed.”

Principals and central administrators congratulated each retiree individually, recalling special moments throughout their career, and commended them for all of their hard work.

The retirees are as follows:
Carol Abrams, Oldfield Middle; Valerie Brosnan, District Office; Janice Cammer, Oldfield Middle; Susan Curasi, Oldfield Middle; Ellen Gilles, District; Stuart Horowitz, Harborfields High School and Oldfield Middle; Ilene Kalmar, Washington Drive; Paul Keys, Harborfields High School; Dale Lerner, District; Aspasia Mally, Harborfields High School; Judith Russell, Harborfields High School; Kathleen Santomauro, Washington Drive, and Richard Stanfield, Washington Drive.

Local members of the school community were also recognized by the Board for going above and beyond to make the Harborfields School District a better place.

“These are all special people who give their best every day to make Harborfields the way it is,” said Assistant Superintendent for Administration and Human Resources Dr. Rory Manning, “and they deserve to be recognized for all they do.”

The following were recognized: Tim Russo, Administrator; Joseph Maiello, Teacher; Jennifer Washington, Teacher; Lynda Abner, Support Staff; Frank Mondelli, Custodial Staff; Karin Fey, Community Member; Eric Gerde, Community Member; Kelly Walker, Community Member.

Additionally, Executive Director for Instructional Services Jordan Cox was recognized for having been selected by Wester Suffolk BOCES Model Schools program as the 2018 Administrator of the year, and teachers Augie Rettino and Jennifer Washington were recognized for being selected by Wester Suffolk BOCES Model Schools for creating a “Books Club for the 21st Century”, and earning a grant for the school.